Irish grand national

The Irish Grand National is a steeplechase run by the National Hunt in Ireland for horses aged five and over. It is run at Fairyhouse over a distance of about 3 miles and 5 furlongs (5,834 meters), with twenty-four obstacles to be jumped throughout the course of the race. It’s a handicap race that takes place every year on Easter Monday.Irish grand national

It is held during Fairyhouse’s Easter Festival meeting and is the Irish counterpart of the Grand National.


The race was first held in 1870, and the first winner was a horse named Sir Robert Peel. The race was held in its current location, and the winner received a reward of 167 sovereigns. It was frequently won by horses trained in the Curragh in its early years, and by 1882, there had been eleven such winners. The Easter Monday race drew a large number of Dublin racegoers, and it became known as the Dubs’ Day Out.

Several Irish Grand National winners have also won the English Grand National at Aintree, although none in the same year. Ascetic’s Silver, the victor of the latter edition in 1906, was the first to complete the double. Rhyme ‘n’ Reason, Bobbyjo, and Numbersixvalverde have all recently accomplished this accomplishment. Brown Lad, a three-time winner in the 1970s, is the most successful horse in the event’s history.

The race has been 3 miles and 5 furlongs since 1991, having previously been 3 miles and 4 furlongs.

For many years, Irish Distillers sponsored the Irish Grand National under various names until 2010. From 2011 through 2013, the race was sponsored by Ladbrokes. Boylesports became the Irish Grand National sponsor in 2014, and rider Barry Geraghty was named the competition’s first ever ambassador, promoting the race via different means, including social media.


Who won the Irish Grand National 2021?

OUTSIDER OUTSIDER OUTSIDER OUTSIDER At the Fairyhouse Easter Festival in 2021, freewheeling Dylan won the Irish Grand National.


Which horses are Irish in Grand National 2021?

Burrows Saint, trained by Willie Mullins, is the only horse capable of accomplishing this accomplishment in 2021. In 2019, he won the Irish National and is entered in the Grand National at Aintree in 2021.

The winners of the last ten Irish Grand Nationals.

Horse Burrows Saint
Age 6
Wgt 10-08
OR 144
Jockey Ruby Walsh

What time is the Irish Grand National 2021?

The Irish Grand National will take place at Fairyhouse Racecourse on Monday, April 5th, at 5 p.m. in 2021.

Where can I watch Irish Grand National 2021?

The Grand National in 2021 will be shown live on ITV Racing, a free-to-air broadcaster. Those with a TV license may also watch the action on ITV Hub for free.

How many horses are in the Irish Grand National 2021?

The remaining 68 horses in the event were whittled down to the final field of 40 on Thursday morning. Blaklion is the final horse to run in the event after the Storyteller was taken out.

Irish racing fixtures

Best Poker Sites for Irish Players

Talking Horses: Freewheelin Dylan wins Irish Grand National at 150-1

How To Read Card Information irish racing cards

Irish Horse Racing

famous irish sport horses

Irish Draught horses

irish sport horse height in hands

Irish horses

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *